In commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of Brown v. Board of Education, Howard University School of Law and Yale Law School are jointly sponsoring a conference entitled, "The Legacy of Brown v. Board of Education: Reflections on the Last Fifty Years," in the spring of 2004. The conference will be held in two parts, the first at Howard and the second at Yale. The Howard conference takes place from Thursday, February 26, 2004 through Saturday, February 28, 2004. The Yale conference occurs from Thursday, April 1, 2004 through Saturday, April, 3, 2004.

We will bring together scholars, practitioners, and educators, as well as those intimately involved in the history of this landmark decision, as we seek to celebrate the decision, discuss its limitations, and understand its broad implications for the future of our democracy.

The 50th anniversary of Brown is an obvious time for reflecting on the history of this groundbreaking decision and for looking ahead. The decision has not only revolutionized our legal system. It has also profoundly reshaped American society - from the make-up of our classrooms, to the composition of our boardrooms; from the most casual of social interactions to the most intimate of family relationships. Brown has redefined our very notions of freedom and justice.

We are honored to have you join us in these reflections.

Watch the video of the Yale conference on-line!

Howard University
School of Law

Brown@50 Project
Prof. Okianer Christian Dark
Special Assistant to Chair
Altheria D. Myers
Communications Chair
Jacqueline Young
Administrative Assistants
Mia Woodard
David Dillard
Lani Shaw

HUSL Brown Website Webmaster
Prof. Steven D. Jamar

Planning Committee
Angela Polk
Brown 101 Coordinators
Hanna Blake Brown
Ara Parker

Brown Speaker Chair
Ara Parker
High School Day Coordinators
Erica Bradley
Lucericia Messiah

Abdul Razak Aziz
Hillary Browne

Volunteer Coordinator
Chanelle Hardy
Anthony Santagati
Faculty Advisors
Prof. Okianer Christian Dark
Prof. Harold McDougall

Yale Law School
Damara Griffith
Speakers Chairs
Jamal Greene
Candace Jackson

Publicity Chair
Laquesha Sanders
Carine Williams
Robert Davis
Registration Chairs
Phyllis Jones
Kamil Redmond

Diarra McKinney
Naana Frimpong
Travel & Logistics
Kevin Chambers
Ambia Harper
Faculty Advisor
Professor Drew S. Days, III